Current Trustees & Governance

Trustees & Governance

The Deafness Resource Centre is governed by a board of Trustees referred to as the Management Committee. The Trustees and co-opted members are responsible for the overall operation and management of the charity and ensuring that all legal and statutory obligations are met. The Trustees delegate the day to day management of the organisation to the Chief Officer and staff team.

The Trustees meet bi-monthly and hold the Annual General Meeting in October each year.

Chairperson – Paul Steele

Paul has worked for the NHS in Engagement & Involvement for 13 years. He is passionate about ensuring that everyone, regardless of background or circumstances, can get involved and have their say on local health services as well as sharing their individual experiences/barriers. Paul has taken a keen interest in working with the D/deaf community to address barriers and to support their engagement in health services.

Secretary – Vacant

Treasurer – Janet Yates

Janet is retired from St Helens Council where she held a number of senior positions; the most recent in being in Children Services. Janet has experience of managing large budgets and setting strategic plans.

Trustees and Co-opted Members:

Katy Sheridan – Independent

Pat Callaghan – Deaf Church

Graham Evans – Independent

Brian Hardiman – Independent

Co-opted Members:

Cllr. Lynn Clark – Windle Ward St Helens

At the current time we are actively looking for Trustees to join our board who have lived experience of D/deafness, and individuals with financial management and HR experience.

If you are interested in joining the Management Committee, please contact the Chief Officer Helen Fitzgerald.